Mushroom Risotto

I haven’t been a big meat eater for awhile and although recently I’ve been trying to {slowly} reintroduce red meat, I love, and always feel pretty darn good about myself, after meals full of vegetables.

Risotto is one of those things that is so rich and so good that you really don’t need anything to accompany it, but let me tell you, zucchini sauteed in Trader Joe’s garlic olive oil was the perfect side dish, and almost stole the show. Actually come to think of it, I had to go back for seconds!

Mushroom Risotto Ingredients:
1½ cups arborio rice
1 qt mushroom stock, vegetable stock or chicken stock
½ cup white wine
1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
4 Tbsp unsalted butter (½ stick)
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 Tbsp chopped parsley

Risotto recipe found here
Trader Joe’s Garlic Olive Oil reviewed here

5 comments

  1. Just connected to you site via Dashboard.

    I’m always a sucker for mushroom risotto…always so good. I used to be a resident of the DC Area, so I’m off to explore more of your blog.

    If you have a moment, check out my site which is a fusion of sports, food, libations, and more. http://sports-glutton.com/

    cheers,
    Jed

    Like

    1. Thanks! DC is a great area- where are you living now?! I’d love some suggestions on some of your favorite places in DC. I’ll definitely check out your blog!

      Like

      1. My wife and I are currently living in Salt Lake City as she is finishing grad school, but are hoping to move back to the DC area this summer….right in time for the humidity. uuuugggghhh

        Favorite places in DC? Well, one of our new favorite places is Little Serow in Dupont. Freaking ridiculously good Thai food in a very cool small atmosphere. Here the link:http://www.littleserow.com

        Like

Thanks for commenting!! XOXO

