What I’m thankful for….

It has become a recurring theme every first of the month that I have mini panic attack… where has this year gone? For me 2011 has been jammed packed with milestones, tons of laughter and the reality that my grown up life is just beginning.

Being that it’s Thanksgiving I have decided to write about all the things that I am thankful for in my life and how much every single person that has supported me means to me.

To My Family… I am thankful that you all have stood by me and been my cheerleader through all my decisions this past year… As I walked across the stage at graduation you all were the loudest family there. As I moved home and then into my first post-college apartment, Dad you were the best sport and Mom the best decorator! Mom I appreciate all of the little things that you do for me. The gifts you buy, the time you spend and the memories we’ve made. That Sunday in Georgetown with you has gone down in the history books as one of most fun times we’ve had together. I am thankful that my relationship with both my parents has changed for the better as each year goes by. Rachel I am thankful that our life dream of living together finally came true and for being the best roommate ever. I am thankful that whenever I make something you’re my taste tester. I am thankful for the nights we’ve stayed up laughing. I am thankful that I have watched you pass almost all of your tests to become a licensed architect and I’m thankful that you are still alive after jumping out of a plane! Jackson I am thankful that you have found your path in life and are experiencing life the way you desire. I’m thankful that you’ve realized life doesn’t have to be so serious, friends are key and that you have to roll with the punches even if that means being on a boat over the holiday season. (We miss you!) McKenzie I am thankful that you are such an intelligent, beautiful young lady, that is not caught up in the traps of high school and peer pressure. I am thankful that you’re humble but know how great you can be. Grant I am thankful that you’re still my goose and bring a smile to my face for no reason. Your soccer skills kick butt and I am grateful that I don’t have to have an excuse to drive down to Richmond to watch you play. I am thankful that we still snuggle on the couch watching movies and you know that you’ll always be my little brother that’s never too cool to give me a kiss on the cheek.

I am thankful that all four of my grandparents and my godparents were able to attend my graduation. I am thankful that my Grandad Jack, Granny Franny, Granna and Pop-pop’s health has held up over the year and hope for many years ahead. I am thankful that my cousins, Teri, Stephanie and Alex, have found their soul mates and have a future of happiness ahead. I am thankful that my cousin Zach has bettered his life and has given me many inspirational post-its that are hanging in my cubicle.

To all my friends … I couldn’t ask for a better group of people to go out with, graduate with, live with, bake with, have football parties with, tour DC with, try new restaurants with, create book clubs with, complain to and shop with.
Cate… I am thankful that after 9 years we are still friends and especially thankful that even though we go weeks without seeing each other, we pick up exactly where we left off – making fun of guys with too tight of shorts, giving each other advice and taking shots!
Lyndsay… I am thankful for our kickboxing dates and our morning g-chats. I am thankful that we can stay up whispering before bed. AND I’m thankful that after four years of being separated by college we’re finally back in the same area!
Lindsey… I appreciate you being my sounding board and keeping my secrets (even though I end up telling everyone anyway.) I am thankful that it only takes a look for us to figure out what we’re thinking and that we both have a almost sick love for Mexican food
Claire… I am thankful that we can G-chat all day talking about how funny we are. I am thankful for our bake nights, because not only would I much rather be baking than exercising but it’s the time spent with you gossiping and laughing that mean the most. Claire and Lindsey… I am thankful that you’re moving 1 minute from my house, which will be my new run route. I am thankful that whenever we go out it’s always a fun time, sometimes too fun. I am thankful that we laugh off any stupid things we do… and of course I’m thankful that we’re not really three blind mice.
Lexi… I am thankful that you moved down to DC and that you have shown me the past few months what strength is. I admire the way you have kept your spirits high and pursued a position down in DC to start your career and become an Arlingtonian. I am beyond thankful that we lived together senior year- the countless mixed drink concoctions we created, wine nights, nail painting parties and road trips are all so precious to me.
Tiffany… I am thankful that we have gotten closer over the past few months. I am thankful that you made me be a tourist in DC, that you bring over snacks on a Friday night when we don’t feel like going out and that you followed my lead 😉 I am thankful that we went to formals together in the spring and TWO wineries together (more to come!)
Alexis… I am thankful that you utilize any way you can get a hold of me (i.e. twitter, facebook, email, text, etc.) and you’re always interested in whatever story I am telling you. I am thankful that you still need me to be your big sis and keep me posted on all the CNU info. I am thankful that I have watched you grow into a more mature, ready to graduate mentality and thankful that I know we’ll be friends always.
Heather… I am thankful and extremely touched that you chose me to be apart of your special day. I am thankful that I got to be apart of your dress shopping and the weekly texts mean more than you know to me. I am thankful that you and Chase are smitten with each other and ready to begin your lives together!
Carrie… I am thankful that you have such sass and haven’t changed a bit. Your passion and charisma brighten up my life, even when we’re miles apart!
Erin… I am thankful that not only do we have a great time together always but also because of you I have gone to one of the most beautiful places on earth. Costa Rica was absolutely beautiful and I can’t thank you enough for inviting me to your place.

I am thankful for CNU- giving me a wonderful, memorable and fulfilling four years of college. I am thankful for all my friends, classmates, and professors. The highs and lows of college have put me here today and I have such loyalty and pride for my Alma Mater.

I am thankful that I have been given the opportunity to start my career fresh out of college. I am thankful that my co-workers and boss have faith in me and have encouraged me to grow and develop within my job in these past few months. (And I am especially thankful that they didn’t make fun of my chipped tooth!)

I am thankful that I have grown up in an area that has pushed me to always want to be better. I am thankful that I have been given the opportunity to succeed and have faith in God that he will help me create a future that suits me best. I am thankful that the days ahead look bright and I can’t wait to share all the good times to come with those who have impacted my life this past year.

The sincerest thank you goes out to everyone who has been apart of this past year. This has been the best year yet for me and I owe it to all those around me!

Happy Thanksgiving… I hope you all celebrate what you’re thankful for these next few days!

Thanks for commenting!! XOXO

